Cinéma Public présente Cinépistolaire

Cinépistolaire

Ten Canadian filmmakers.
Five filmed correspondences.

Cinéma Public is proud to present Cinépistolaire, our very first original creation. Over the past few months, we have commissioned five series of short epistolary films from Canadian filmmaker duos: Caroline Monnet and Carol Nguyen, Lina Rodriguez and Jorge Lozano, Trevor Anderson and Eva Cvijanović, Shannon Walsh and Julien Elie, and Nour Ouayda and Rhayne Vermette. From these exchanges of filmed letters, a unique cinematic space is born, where each person’s voice and gaze simultaneously listen to the other and unveil the self. The correspondences will be shared one by one over the next few weeks, and will be available for free on our website. We acknowledge the support of the Canada Council for the Arts.


Episode 5.
Rhayne Vermette and Nour Ouayda

LEARN MORE

Episode 4.
Julien Elie and Shannon Walsh

LEARN MORE

Episode 3.
Trevor Anderson and Eva Cvijanović

LEARN MORE

Episode 2.
Jorge Lozano and Lina Rodríguez

LEARN MORE

Episode 1.
Carol Nguyen and Caroline Monnet

LEARN MORE

Trailer


CAROLINE MONNET is a multidisciplinary artist of Anishinaabe and French ancestry from the Outaouais region of Quebec. Her work has been exhibited around the world, and is included in numerous museum collections. Winner of a 2020 Sobey Art Award and the 2020 Pierre Ayot Award, she adds her 2021 feature film Bootlegger to her impressive track record.

CAROL NGUYEN is a Vietnamese Canadian filmmaker, born and raised in Toronto, now based in Montreal. Her last film, No Crying at the Dinner Table, premiered at the Toronto International Film Festival. In 2020, No Crying also received the Jury Prize for Short Documentary at SXSW. Today, Carol is working towards developing her first documentary feature, as well as an animated short. 

LINA RODRÍGUEZ is a Colombian Canadian filmmaker. She has written, directed, and produced six short films (Convergences et rencontresPont du CarrouselEinschnitteProtocolante mis ojosAquí y allá) and three features, SeñoritasMañana a esta hora, Mis dos voces. The latter premiered at the Berlinale in 2022. She has had retrospectives of her work screened in Buenos Aires, Madrid and Bogotá. 

JORGE LOZANO is a Canadian documentary filmmaker, video artist, activist and curator of Colombian origin. He is also a prolific artist and organizer within  Toronto’s Latin American video community since 1980. Best known among queer film buffs for his documentation of the Latino drag subculture, Jorge’s work has been featured in numerous festivals, museums and galleries.

TREVOR ANDERSON is a director, writer, and actor. His musical, The Man That Got Away, won the D.A.A.D. Short Film Prize at the Berlinale, while his western The Little Deputy and his science-fiction horror Docking both premiered at the Sundance Film Festival. Trevor directed his first feature film, Before I Change My Mind, in the summer of 2021; it will premiere in 2022.

EVA CVIJANOVIĆ is a Montréal-based, Sarajevo-born filmmaker and animator. Her needle-felted stop motion short Hedgehog’s Home premiered at the 67th Berlinale and was one of the most awarded Canadian shorts of 2017. Eva is currently experimenting with filmmaking within a game engine and exploring new collaborative ventures, both as director and researcher.

SHANNON WALSH is the writer and director of the feature documentaries The Gig Is Up, Illusions of Control, Jeppe on a Friday, À St-Henri, le 26 août, and H2Oil, as well as several short films and VR works. Her films have been screened at over 70 festivals and venues around the world, including the Venice Biennale and the Centre Pompidou in Paris. She is an associate professor at the University of British Columbia. 

JULIEN ELIE is the director of Dark Suns, a documentary on criminal violence in Mexico. The latter has been selected for several dozen festivals around the world and has won numerous awards. He previously directed Celui qui savait, a film-investigation on political crimes in Rwanda, as well as The Last Meal, a deep dive into Huntsville, Texas, the death penalty capital of the United State.

RHAYNE VERMETTE was born in Notre-Dame-de-Lourdes, Manitoba. It was while studying architecture at the University of Manitoba that she fell into the practices of image making and storytelling. Primarily self-taught, Rhayne’s films are opulent collages of fiction, animation, documentary, reenactments and divine interruption. Ste. Anne is her first feature narrative.

NOUR OUAYDA is a filmmaker, film critic and programmer. She is the deputy director of the Metropolis Cinema Association in Beirut, where she also coordinates the Cinematheque Beirut project. Her films (including One Sea, 10 Seas, which was shown at the RIDM in 2017) and her writing research the practice of drifting in cinema. She has been part of the online magazine Hors champ since 2016.


RACHEL SAMSON
Animation and illustrations

T&S COOPERATIVE
Translation and subtitles

CÉDRIC DIND-LAVOIE
Original music

GUILLAUME POTVIN
Editing

PHILIPPE BOUCHARD-CHOLETTE
Project manager

Cinéma Public,
a cinema on the move

Cinéma Public présente Cinépistolaire

Cinépistolaire

Dix cinéastes de partout au Canada.
Cinq correspondances filmées.

Le Cinéma Public est fier de présenter Cinépistolaire, notre toute première création originale. Au cours des derniers mois, nous avons commandé cinq séries de courts films épistolaires à autant de duos de cinéastes canadiens : Caroline Monnet et Carol Nguyen, Lina Rodríguez et Jorge Lozano, Trevor Anderson et Eva Cvijanović, Shannon Walsh et Julien Elie, ainsi que Nour Ouayda et Rhayne Vermette. De ces échanges de lettres filmées est né un espace cinématographique unique, où la voix et le regard de chacun∙e est tout à la fois dévoilement de soi et écoute de l’autre. L’intégralité des correspondances est disponible gratuitement. Le Cinéma Public remercie le Conseil des arts du Canada de son soutien.


Épisode 1.
Carol Nguyen et Caroline Monnet

EN SAVOIR PLUS

Épisode 2.
Jorge Lozano et Lina Rodríguez

EN SAVOIR PLUS

Épisode 3.
Trevor Anderson et Eva Cvijanović

EN SAVOIR PLUS

Épisode 4.
Julien Elie et Shannon Walsh

EN SAVOIR PLUS

Épisode 5.
Rhayne Vermette et Nour Ouayda

EN SAVOIR PLUS

Bande-annonce


CAROLINE MONNET, d’ascendance anichinabée et française, est une artiste multidisciplinaire de la région de l’Outaouais, au Québec. Son travail a été présenté partout dans le monde et ses œuvres figurent dans de nombreuses collections muséales. Lauréate d’un prix Sobey pour les arts 2020 et du prix Pierre-Ayot 2020, elle ajoute à son impressionnante feuille de route le long métrage Bootlegger, film d’ouverture du FNC en 2021.

CAROL NGUYEN est une jeune cinéaste canadienne d’origine vietnamienne basée à Montréal et Toronto. Ses films explorent les thèmes de l’identité culturelle et de la mémoire. Son dernier court métrage, No Crying at the Dinner Table, a été présenté au TIFF et à IDFA, et a reçu le prix du jury court métrage documentaire à SXSW. Elle travaille présentement au développement de son premier long métrage documentaire et d’un court métrage d’animation.  

LINA RODRÍGUEZ est une cinéaste canadienne d’origine colombienne. Elle a écrit, réalisé et produit six courts métrages (Convergences et rencontres, Pont du Carrousel, Einschnitte, Protocol, ante mis ojos, Aquí y allá) et trois longs métrages, Señoritas, Mañana a esta hora, Mis dos voces. Ce dernier a été présenté en première mondiale à la Berlinale en 2022. Des rétrospectives de son œuvre ont été projetées à Buenos Aires, Madrid et Bogota. 

JORGE LOZANO est un documentariste, vidéaste, activiste et conservateur canadien d’origine colombienne. Il est également un artiste et un organisateur prolifique au sein du milieu vidéo et de la communauté latino-américaine de Toronto depuis 1980. Surtout connu des cinéphiles queer pour sa documentation de la sous-culture latino de personnification féminine, les œuvres de Jorge ont été présentées dans de nombreux festivals, musées et galeries partout sur la planète.

TREVOR ANDERSON est un réalisateur, scénariste et acteur dont les courts métrages ont joué dans de nombreux festivals, notamment à la Berlinale, où il a remporté le prix D.A.A.D. du court métrage pour The Man That Got Away. Ses films The Little Deputy et Docking ont tous deux été à Sundance, en plus d’être nommés dans le top dix annuel des meilleurs films canadiens par le TIFF. Son premier long-métrage, Before I Change My Mind, sortira en 2022.

EVA CVIJANOVIĆ est une cinéaste et animatrice montréalaise originaire de Sarajevo. Son court métrage en laine feutrée La maison du hérisson a eu sa première à la Berlinale et a été l’un des courts canadiens les plus primés de 2017. Eva expérimente depuis quelques années avec les moteurs de jeux et entreprend de nouvelles aventures collaboratives en tant que co-auteure et chercheuse.

SHANNON WALSH a écrit et réalisé les longs métrages documentaires The Gig Is Up, Illusions of Control, Jeppe on a Friday, À St-Henri, le 26 août et H2Oil , ainsi que plusieurs courts métrages et œuvres en RV. Ses films ont été présentés dans plus de 70 festivals et espaces de diffusion partout sur la planète, dont la Biennale de Venise et le Centre Pompidou à Paris. 

JULIEN ELIE est le réalisateur de Soleils noirs, un documentaire sur la violence criminelle au Mexique. Ce dernier a été sélectionné dans quelques dizaines de festivals à travers le monde et a remporté de nombreux prix. Auparavant, il a réalisé Celui qui savait, un film-enquête sur les crimes politiques au Rwanda, et Le dernier repas, une plongée au cœur de Huntsville, Texas, capitale de la peine de mort aux États-Unis. 

RHAYNE VERMETTE est née à Notre-Dame-de-Lourdes, au Manitoba. C’est en étudiant l’architecture à l’Université du Manitoba qu’elle s’est intéressée à la pratique de la création d’images et de la narration. Principalement autodidacte, les films de Rhayne sont des collages opulents de fiction, d’animation, de documentaire et de reconstitution. Ste. Anne est son premier long métrage narratif.

NOUR OUAYDA est une réalisatrice, critique de films et programmatrice basée à Beyrouth. Elle est adjointe à la direction à l’association Metropolis Art Cinema ainsi que chargée du projet Cinémathèque Beirut. Ses écrits et ses films (dont One Sea, 10 Seas, présenté aux RIDM en 2019) recherchent une pratique de la dérive au cinéma. Elle fait partie de l‘équipe du magazine en ligne Hors champ.


RACHEL SAMSON
Animation et illustrations

COOPÉRATIVE T&S
Traduction et sous-titrage

CÉDRIC DIND-LAVOIE
Musique originale

GUILLAUME POTVIN
Montage

PHILIPPE BOUCHARD-CHOLETTE
Coordination

Cinéma Public,
un cinéma en mouvement