Les Fils

Manon Cousin
2021 - Documentary - 96 min

Homegrown cinema


Les Fils

country:
Canada (Québec)
language:
French

Les Fils (the Sons) were a new kind of religious figure, emerging from their presbyteries to meet the “real people” and even to work in factories alongside the poor and neglected. Against the will of clerical authorities, they invested with remarkable proximity a working class neighbourhood and gave a voice to its residents. They also found themselves at the heart of the era’s political struggles despite the paradoxically loosening grip that religion had on society. Through multiple testimonies, photographies and fascinating images of a bygone Montreal, Les Fils paints a positive picture of a humanist endeavour, far removed from any kind of indoctrination.


You might also like

Au-delà des hautes vallées

In a remote himalayan region, the villagers of Maikot are preparing for the harvest of a mysterious aphrodisiac caterpillar-mushroom worth more than gold.

Learn more

Cesária Évora

Ana Sofia Fonseca’s documentary about legendary Cape Verdean singer Cesária Évora reveals the complex woman behind the rich, deeply resonant voice that catapulted her to international fame at the age of 50.

Learn more

Les années Super-8

“In re-viewing our super eight films, shot between 1972 and 1981, it occurred to me that they comprised not only a family archive but a testimony to the pastimes, lifestyle and aspirations of a social class in the decade after 1968.”

Learn more

Cinéma Public,
a cinema on the move

Les Fils

Manon Cousin
2021 - Documentaire - 96 min

Cinéma d'ici


Les Fils

pays :
Québec (Canada)
langue :
français

L’ambition des Fils, religieux d’un nouveau genre, était de sortir des presbytères pour rencontrer le « vrai monde », et même travailler en usine aux côtés d’une population pauvre et laissée pour compte. À l’encontre du pouvoir clérical, ils ont investi avec une proximité remarquable un quartier défavorisé et donné une voix à ses habitants. Ils se sont aussi retrouvés au coeur des luttes politiques de l’époque alors que, paradoxalement, la religion perdait du galon. À travers de multiples témoignages, photographies et images fascinantes d’un Montréal depuis longtemps disparu, Les Fils brosse une peinture positive d’un engagement humaniste, loin de tout embrigadement.


Nos suggestions

Au-delà des hautes vallées

Dans une région reculée de l’Himalaya, les habitants du village de Maikot se préparent pour la récolte d’un mystérieux champignon aphrodisiaque valant plus que de l’or.

En savoir plus

Les années Super 8

L’écrivaine Annie Ernaux, toute récemment récipiendaire du Prix Nobel de littérature, s’allie à son fils David Ernaux-Briot pour créer ce fragment autobiographique croisant l’intime, le social et l’histoire, dans lequel elle nous raconte la décennie la plus déterminante de sa vie.

En savoir plus

Cesária Évora

Le documentaire d’Ana Sofia Fonseca sur la légendaire chanteuse capverdienne Cesária Évora révèle la femme complexe qui se cache derrière la voix riche et profondément résonnante qui l’a catapultée vers la gloire internationale à l’âge de 50 ans.

En savoir plus

Cinéma Public,
un cinéma en mouvement