The Fantastic + Anunciaron Tormenta

Maija Blåfield, Javier Fernández Vázquez
2019 - Documentary - 30 + 87 min

International cinema


The Fantastic + Anunciaron Tormenta

country:
South Korea / Equatorial Guinea
language:
Original Version
subtitles:
English

Double bill as part of FIFEQ

 

THE FANTASTIC — Maija Blåfield, 2019, South Korea. A true filmic mise en abyme, this film, narrated by North Koreans living in South Korea, bears witness to the imaginaries developed by these individuals about the West while they were still living in North Korea and illegally viewing films from abroad. These testimonials richly illustrate the porosity that develops between reality and fiction in the imagination of individuals living under a regime of censorship. 

 

ANUNCIARON TORMENTA (A STORM WAS COMING) Javier Fernández Vásquez, 2019, Equatorial Guinea. 1904. Ësáasi Eweera, a last chief of the Bubi people of Equatorial Guinea, dies three days after being detained by Spanish colonial guards. This moving film bears witness to the Spanish colonial past in Equatorial Guinea by placing archival footage in dialogue with Indigenous oral histories and poignant testimonials. 

 

Free screening, subject to availability. First come, first served! We advise you to arrive early.


You might also like

Casa d'Italia Neighbourhood stories


Je me souviens d’un temps où personne ne joggait dans ce quartier

A spotlight on the many faces of Park Ex, this film hints at the relentless gentrification threatening the social fabric of a neighbourhood.

Learn more

Casa d'Italia


Dear Jackie

Dear Jackie is a cinematic letter to Jackie Robinson, the first Black man to play in Major League Baseball, after a stint with the minor-league Montreal Royals, and a key contributor to the civil rights movement in the United States.

Learn more

Casa d'Italia


Mon père et sa mélancolie

The protagonist of the documentary is Chong Ren He, the director’s father. Born in 1937 in Lijiang, a small town located in rural China on the Tibetan border, he is a descendant of the Naxi, one of the fifty-six Chinese minorities with a population of 300,000 people.

Learn more

Cinéma Public,
a cinema on the move

The Fantastic + Anunciaron Tormenta

Maija Blåfield, Javier Fernández Vázquez
2019 - Documentaire - 30 + 87 min

Cinéma international


The Fantastic + Anunciaron Tormenta

pays :
Corée du Sud / Guinée Équatoriale
langue :
Version originale
sous-titres :
anglais

Séance double dans le cadre du FIFEQ

 

THE FANTASTIC — Maija Blåfield, 2019, Corée du SudUne véritable mise en abyme filmique, ce film, narré par des Nord-Coréen∙ne∙s vivant en Corée du Sud, témoigne des imaginaires développés par ces individus à propos de l’Occident alors qu’ils vivaient encore en Corée du Nord et visionnaient illégalement des films provenant de l’étranger. Ces témoignages illustrent avec grande richesse la porosité qui se développe entre le réel et la fiction dans la pensée d’individus vivant en un régime de censure.

 

ANUNCIARON TORMENTA (A STORM WAS COMING) — Javier Fernández Vásquez, 2019, Guinée équatoriale1904. Ësáasi Eweera, un dernier chef du peuple Bubi de Guinée Équatoriale, meurt trois jours après avoir été détenu par des gardes coloniaux espagnols. Ce film touchant témoigne du passé colonial espagnol en Guinée Équatoriale en faisant dialoguer des images d’archives avec des récits oraux autochtones et des témoignages poignants. 

 

Séance gratuite dans la limite des places disponibles. Premier arrivé, premier servi ! Nous vous conseillons de vous présenter en avance.


Nos suggestions

Casa d'Italia


Mon père et sa mélancolie

Né en 1937 à Lijiang, une petite ville située dans la Chine rurale à la frontière tibétaine, Chong Ren He est descendant des Naxi, une des cinquante-six minorités chinoises qui compte une population de 300 000 personnes.

En savoir plus

Casa d'Italia


Dear Jackie

Dear Jackie adopte la forme d’une lettre cinématographique destinée à Jackie Robinson, militant ayant contribué à paver la voie au mouvement des droits civiques aux États-Unis et premier homme noir ayant joué dans la Ligue majeure de baseball américaine, jusqu’alors ségréguée.

En savoir plus

Casa d'Italia Vues de quartier


Je me souviens d’un temps où personne ne joggait dans ce quartier

Ce film sans dialogue présente le quartier le plus densément peuplé de Montréal, Parc-Extension et, surtout, ceux et celles qui y vivent.

En savoir plus

Cinéma Public,
un cinéma en mouvement