Les jeunes acteurs du documentaire JE ME SOULÈVE

Je me soulève

Hugo Latulippe
2022 - Documentary - 88 min

Homegrown cinema


Je me soulève

country:
Quebec (Canada)
language:
French

Twenty young actors are brought together for a creation lab by stage directors Véronique and Gabrielle Côté, to create a collective work at one of the great national theatres. Over a full year, they scour contemporary Québécois poetry to tap into the spirit of the times. Whether in workshop settings or at the four corners of the territory, we watch the creative process of Je me soulève unfold. What kind of people will we be in the future? How can art transform the world? Will we still be able to have children? Rebellious, filled with the passion of those who dream of beauty, obeying only their intuition, they come together to forge an ode to life. And when one of theirs is elected to the Quebec’s National Assembly, poetry literally becomes an integral part of the country’s political landscape.


You might also like

Casa d'Italia


Mon père et sa mélancolie

The protagonist of the documentary is Chong Ren He, the director’s father. Born in 1937 in Lijiang, a small town located in rural China on the Tibetan border, he is a descendant of the Naxi, one of the fifty-six Chinese minorities with a population of 300,000 people.

Learn more

Casa d'Italia Neighbourhood stories


Je me souviens d’un temps où personne ne joggait dans ce quartier

A spotlight on the many faces of Park Ex, this film hints at the relentless gentrification threatening the social fabric of a neighbourhood.

Learn more

Casa d'Italia


Dear Jackie

Dear Jackie is a cinematic letter to Jackie Robinson, the first Black man to play in Major League Baseball, after a stint with the minor-league Montreal Royals, and a key contributor to the civil rights movement in the United States.

Learn more

Cinéma Public,
a cinema on the move

Les jeunes acteurs du documentaire JE ME SOULÈVE

Je me soulève

Hugo Latulippe
2022 - Documentaire - 88 min

Cinéma d'ici


Je me soulève

pays :
Québec (Canada)
langue :
français

Vingt jeunes acteurs sont réunis en laboratoire par les metteures en scène Véronique et Gabrielle Côté afin de créer une oeuvre collective pour l’un des grands théâtres nationaux. Sur une année complète, ils fouillent la poésie contemporaine québécoise avec l’objectif d’en tirer « l’esprit du temps ». En atelier comme aux quatre coins du territoire, nous assistons au processus de mise au monde de Je me soulève. Quel peuple serons-nous à l’avenir ? Que peut l’art pour transformer le monde ? Pourrons-nous encore faire des enfants ? Insurgés, habités par la ferveur de ceux qui rêvent de beauté, n’obéissant qu’à leur intuition, ils érigent une ode à la vie. Et lorsque – coup de théâtre! – l’une des leurs est élue à l’Assemblée nationale du Québec, la poésie se trouve littéralement mêlée à la vie politique du pays.


Nos suggestions

Dear Jackie

Dear Jackie adopte la forme d’une lettre cinématographique destinée à Jackie Robinson, militant ayant contribué à paver la voie au mouvement des droits civiques aux États-Unis et premier homme noir ayant joué dans la Ligue majeure de baseball américaine, jusqu’alors ségréguée.

En savoir plus

La panthère des neiges

Au coeur des hauts plateaux tibétains, le photographe Vincent Munier entraîne l’écrivain Sylvain Tesson dans sa quête de la panthère des neiges.

En savoir plus

Os Olhos Do Meu Amor

Os Olhos Do Meu Amor

Patience, habileté et éphémérité font écho à la précarité de la vie rurale alors que tous les quatre ans se retrouve un généreux jardin de fleurs de papier dans l’aride paysage de l’intérieur de l’Alentejo, au Portugal.

En savoir plus

Cinéma Public,
un cinéma en mouvement