Katia Krafft dans le film FIRE OF LOVE de Sara Dosa

Fire of Love

Sara Dosa
2022 - Documentary - 98 min

International cinema


Fire of Love

country:
United States, Canada
language:
French, English
subtitles:
French or English

Unmissable figures of French television until their deaths at the beginning of the 1990s, Katia and Maurice Krafft were intrepid scientists – he a geologist, she a chemist and physicist – with a passion for volcanoes. Founders of the Vulcain Volcanology Centre, they left behind an extraordinary iconographic collection, filled with hundreds of hours of spectacular images recorded by the couple in their endeavours to comprehend the mystery of volcanoes. From these sequences shot in 16mm, as well as photographs, illustrations, books and media appearances, Sara Dosa, who is an anthropologist, creates a collage, with a line of questioning that is ultimately related to that of a geologist: how does one fill in the gaps – where myths are so often born? Narrated in voice-over by the American filmmaker and artist Miranda July, Fire of Love is an epic adventure film about love, time, the unknown, and the very meaning of human existence, thus definitively confirming the camera’s faculty to move from instants in time to posterity. (Visions du Réel)

  • Sunday, October 2, 12:00
    (EST)
    Casa d'Italia
  • Friday, October 7, 18:00
    (EST)
    Casa d'Italia
  • Sunday, October 9, 16:45
    (FST)
    Casa d'Italia

You might also like

The End of Wonderland

The End of Wonderland is a feature documentary on Tara Emory, a veteran artist who works on her own terms in the sex industry, facing a changing world and eviction from her packed studio, Wonderland.

Learn more

305 Bellechasse

A former Catelli pasta factory, located at the confluence of Petite-Patrie, Mile-End and Little Italy, has become over the years a refuge for many renowned artists. But real estate speculation has caused the eviction of artists from their studios, making their practice more precarious.

Learn more

L'avocate et imam Seyran Ates dans le film Seyran Ates: Sex, Revolution and Islam

Seyran Ateş: Sex, Revolution and Islam

Turkish-German feminist lawyer Seyran Ateş is one of the first female imams in Europe, and she is fighting for a Muslim sexual revolution. A documentary that aims to respond to extremism by advocating peace and love.

Learn more

Cinéma Public,
a cinema on the move

Katia Krafft dans le film FIRE OF LOVE de Sara Dosa

Fire of Love

Sara Dosa
2022 - Documentaire - 98 min

Cinéma international


Fire of Love

pays :
États-Unis, Canada
langue :
français, anglais
sous-titres :
français ou anglais

Figures incontournables du petit écran français jusqu’à leur mort au début des années 1990, Katia et Maurice Krafft étaient des scientifiques intrépides – lui géologue, elle chimiste et physicienne – passionné·e·s de volcans. Fondateur·ice·s du Centre de Volcanologie Vulcain, ils ont laissé derrière elles·eux un extraordinaire fonds iconographique, empli de centaines d’heures d’images spectaculaires enregistrées par le couple pour tenter de comprendre le mystère des volcans. À partir de ces séquences tournées en 16mm, mais aussi de photographies, d’illustrations, de livres et d’apparitions dans les médias, Sara Dosa, elle-même anthropologue, crée un collage, avec un questionnement finalement apparenté à celui d’un géologue : comment combler les interstices, là où souvent naît le mythe ? Narré en off par la cinéaste, artiste et américaine Miranda July, Fire of Love est un film épique d’aventure sur l’amour, le temps, l’inconnu, et le sens même de l’existence humaine, venant confirmer de façon définitive la faculté de la caméra à passer des instants à la postérité. (Visions du Réel)

  • Dimanche 2 octobre, 12h00
    (STA)
    Casa d'Italia
  • Vendredi 7 octobre, 18h00
    (STA)
    Casa d'Italia
  • Dimanche 9 octobre, 16h45
    (STF)
    Casa d'Italia

Nos suggestions

The End of Wonderland

Le portrait de Tara Emory, une artiste vétérane qui travaille de manière indépendante dans l’industrie du sexe depuis le début des années 2000, faisant face à l’éviction imminente de son immense studio Wonderland.

En savoir plus

305 Bellechasse

Une ancienne usine de pâtes Catelli, située au confluent de la Petite-Patrie, du Mile-End et de la Petite-Italie, est devenue au fil du temps le refuge de nombreux artistes de renom. Mais la spéculation immobilière a causé l’évincement des artistes de leur atelier, précarisant leur pratique.

En savoir plus

L'avocate et imam Seyran Ates dans le film Seyran Ates: Sex, Revolution and Islam

Seyran Ateş: Sex, Revolution and Islam

L’avocate féministe turco-allemande Seyran Ateş est l’une des premières femmes imams en Europe, et elle se bat pour une révolution sexuelle musulmane. Un documentaire qui se veut une réponse à l’extrémisme en prônant la paix et l’amour.

En savoir plus

Cinéma Public,
un cinéma en mouvement