Eskape

Neary Adeline Hay
2021 - Documentary - 70 min

International cinema


Eskape

country:
France
language:
French
subtitles:
English

Cambodia 1981. After the fall of the Khmer Rouge regime, a woman flees a country in fire and blood. She holds a baby in her arms. Forty years later, confronted with her mother’s silence forged by trauma and time, the director decides to embark on a long journey. From the Cambodian jungle, through the former refugee camps of Thailand and Indonesia, to the asylum-seekers centres in France, she tries to reconstruct the story of their survival and to open up the paths of memory and transmission.

 

In collaboration with the French Consulate General in Quebec and TENK

 

Price at $5


You might also like

Casa d'Italia Neighbourhood stories


Je me souviens d’un temps où personne ne joggait dans ce quartier

A spotlight on the many faces of Park Ex, this film hints at the relentless gentrification threatening the social fabric of a neighbourhood.

Learn more

Casa d'Italia


Dear Jackie

Dear Jackie is a cinematic letter to Jackie Robinson, the first Black man to play in Major League Baseball, after a stint with the minor-league Montreal Royals, and a key contributor to the civil rights movement in the United States.

Learn more

Casa d'Italia


Mon père et sa mélancolie

The protagonist of the documentary is Chong Ren He, the director’s father. Born in 1937 in Lijiang, a small town located in rural China on the Tibetan border, he is a descendant of the Naxi, one of the fifty-six Chinese minorities with a population of 300,000 people.

Learn more

Cinéma Public,
a cinema on the move

Eskape

Adeline Neary Hay
2021 - Documentaire - 70 min

Cinéma international


Eskape

pays :
France
langue :
français
sous-titres :
anglais

Cambodge 1981. Après la chute du régime des Khmers rouges, une femme fuit un pays à feu et à sang. Elle tient un bébé dans ses bras. Quarante ans plus tard, confrontée au silence de sa mère forgé par le traumatisme et le temps, la réalisatrice décide d’entreprendre un long voyage. De la jungle cambodgienne, en passant par les anciens camps de réfugiés de Thaïlande et d’Indonésie, jusqu’aux centres de demandeurs d’asile en France, elle tente de reconstituer l’histoire de leur survie et d’ouvrir les chemins de la mémoire et de la transmission.

 

En collaboration avec le Consulat général de France à Québec et Tënk

 

Tarif spécial à 5$


Nos suggestions

Casa d'Italia Vues de quartier


Je me souviens d’un temps où personne ne joggait dans ce quartier

Ce film sans dialogue présente le quartier le plus densément peuplé de Montréal, Parc-Extension et, surtout, ceux et celles qui y vivent.

En savoir plus

Casa d'Italia


Dear Jackie

Dear Jackie adopte la forme d’une lettre cinématographique destinée à Jackie Robinson, militant ayant contribué à paver la voie au mouvement des droits civiques aux États-Unis et premier homme noir ayant joué dans la Ligue majeure de baseball américaine, jusqu’alors ségréguée.

En savoir plus

Casa d'Italia


Mon père et sa mélancolie

Né en 1937 à Lijiang, une petite ville située dans la Chine rurale à la frontière tibétaine, Chong Ren He est descendant des Naxi, une des cinquante-six minorités chinoises qui compte une population de 300 000 personnes.

En savoir plus

Cinéma Public,
un cinéma en mouvement