Beau Travail

Claire Denis
1999 - Drama - 93 min

International cinema


Beau Travail

country:
France
language:
French, Russian and Italian
subtitles:
English

With her ravishingly sensual take on Herman Melville’s Billy Budd, Sailor, Claire Denis firmly established herself as one of the great visual tone poets of our time. Amid the azure waters and sunbaked desert landscapes of Djibouti, a French Foreign Legion sergeant (Denis Lavant) sows the seeds of his own ruin as his obsession with a striking young recruit (Grégoire Colin) plays out to the thunderous, operatic strains of Benjamin Britten.

 

Denis and cinematographer Agnès Godard fold military and masculine codes of honor, colonialism’s legacy, destructive jealousy, and repressed desire into shimmering, hypnotic images that ultimately explode in one of the most startling and unforgettable endings in all of modern cinema.


You might also like

Kelly Depeault dans Noémie dit oui de Geneviève Albert

Bleu soir


Noémie dit oui

Noémie runs away from a youth centre in search of her bearings and freedom. She soon falls in love with the flamboyant Zach, who encourages her to become a prostitute. Initially reluctant, Noémie “says yes” and falls into the life of an escort overnight.

Learn more

Bleu soir


La vraie nature de Bernadette

A lawyer’s wife, Bernadette Brown, leaves home to live in the country with her young son Yannick. Imbued with naturist and libertarian theories, she strives to apply them in a life close to nature.

Learn more

Mark Frechette et Daria Halprin dans Zabriskie Point de Michelangelo Antonioni

Bleu soir Les insomniaques


Zabriskie Point

Zabriskie Point attempts to synthesize the student protest movement and free love ethos into a story of brooding masculinity and generational ennui. A visual feast that juxtaposes hyper-commercialized cityscapes with wide open dessert scenes.

Learn more

Cinéma Public,
a cinema on the move

Une image du film Beau Travail (1999) de Claire Denis

Beau travail

Claire Denis
1999 - Drame - 93 min

Cinéma international


Beau travail

pays :
France
langue :
français, russe et italien
sous-titres :
anglais

Un peloton de la Légion étrangère oublié, abandonné quelque part dans le Golfe de Djibouti. Les restes d’une armée fantôme qui joue à la guerre et répare les routes. À Marseille l’ex-adjudant Galoup se souvient de ces temps heureux, de cette vie si bien orchestrée, de ses hommes, son cher troupeau. Mais ce qu’il a vraiment perdu, c’est son commandant. Son commandant qu’il n’a pas voulu partager avec un jeune légionnaire.


Nos suggestions

Les oiseaux ivres de Ivan Grbovic

Bleu soir


Les oiseaux ivres

La quête de Willy pour retrouver Marlena, son amour perdu, le mène du Mexique au Canada, où il se fait engager comme travailleur saisonnier à la ferme Bécotte, près de Montréal. Des moments de réalisme magique surgissent au cours des longues journées de travail.

En savoir plus

Bleu soir


Touki Bouki

Dans ce drame fantastique et stylé, deux jeunes amants, Anta, étudiante provocatrice, et Mory, berger marginal, en ont assez de Dakar. Ils souhaitent s’échapper vers le glamour et le confort qu’ils imaginent que la France peut offrir.

En savoir plus

Harriet Andersson dans SUMMER WITH MONIKA de Ingmar Bergman

Bleu soir


Un été avec Monika

Dans un quartier populaire de Stockholm, un jeune coursier s’éprend d’une vendeuse au caractère bien trempé. Ils s’enfuient sur une île déserte pour vivre un amour qu’ils croient éternel. Mais à la fin de l’été, l’argent manque. Et le retour à la vie ordinaire est douloureux…

En savoir plus

Cinéma Public,
un cinéma en mouvement