Manifestation antiraciste dans le film OUR DANCE OF REVOLUTION

Our Dance of Revolution

Phillip Pike
2021 - Documentary - 104 min

Homegrown cinema


Our Dance of Revolution

country:
Canada
language:
English
subtitles:
French

“We are people of revolution. We’re here because others have rebelled. Because others have stood in solid resistance!”

 

Listening to Angela, a Black lesbian feminist who is rousing a crowd, we understand that, no, this particular revolution wasn’t televised. Rather, from out of the shadows, it was embraced, chanted, marched and danced into existence.

 

Our Dance of Revolution tells the story of how Black queer folks in Toronto faced every adversity, from invisibility to police brutality, and rose up to become a vibrant, triple-snap-fierce community. Capturing first-person accounts and invaluable archival photographs across a span of four decades, this feature-length documentary is more than a previously untold oral history, more than a reclamation of unsung people and events.

 

Through director Phillip Pike’s lens, we glimpse at the central role historically played by Black lesbians in Toronto’s queer community, the impact of the HIV epidemic and grassroots efforts for education and support, the distinction of Toronto’s Church Street drag queens, and the defiance of Blockorama to the whiteness of Pride. Our Dance of Revolution is ultimately a human-scale reckoning of how audacious individuals find themselves by connecting with others, and how they muster the courage, tenacity, and creativity to prevail against the forces of marginalization. (Cinema Politica)

 

from February 1st to 28 – $8


You might also like

Casa d'Italia Neighbourhood stories


Je me souviens d’un temps où personne ne joggait dans ce quartier

A spotlight on the many faces of Park Ex, this film hints at the relentless gentrification threatening the social fabric of a neighbourhood.

Learn more

Casa d'Italia


Mon père et sa mélancolie

The protagonist of the documentary is Chong Ren He, the director’s father. Born in 1937 in Lijiang, a small town located in rural China on the Tibetan border, he is a descendant of the Naxi, one of the fifty-six Chinese minorities with a population of 300,000 people.

Learn more

Casa d'Italia


Dear Jackie

Dear Jackie is a cinematic letter to Jackie Robinson, the first Black man to play in Major League Baseball, after a stint with the minor-league Montreal Royals, and a key contributor to the civil rights movement in the United States.

Learn more

Cinéma Public,
a cinema on the move

Manifestation Black Lives Matter dans le film OUR DANCE OF REVOLUTION

Our Dance of Revolution

Phillip Pike
2021 - Documentaire - 104 min

Cinéma d'ici


Our Dance of Revolution

pays :
Canada
langue :
anglais
sous-titres :
français

« Nous sommes des gens de la révolution. Nous sommes ici parce que d’autres se sont rebellés. Parce que d’autres ont opposé une résistance solide ! » 

 

En écoutant Angela, une féministe lesbienne noire qui soulève la foule, nous comprenons que, non, cette révolution-là n’a pas été télévisée. Au contraire, elle est sortie de l’ombre, a été embrassée, chantée, défilée et dansée.

 

Our Dance of Revolution raconte comment les personnes noires et queers de Toronto ont fait face à toutes les difficultés, de l’invisibilité à la brutalité policière, et se sont relevées pour devenir une communauté dynamique et féroce. Grâce à des témoignages et à de précieuses photos d’archives couvrant une période de quatre décennies, ce long métrage documentaire est plus qu’une histoire orale inédite, plus qu’une réappropriation de personnes et d’événements méconnus.

 

À travers la lentille du réalisateur Phillip Pike, nous avons un aperçu des contributions exceptionnelles des lesbiennes noires à l’histoire queer de Toronto, de l’impact du VIH et de la mobilisation communautaire face à l’épidémie, de la distinction des drag queens de la Church Street et de la résistance de Blockorama à la blancheur de la Pride. Our Dance of Revolution est un hommage à ces individus audacieux qui, ensemble, trouvent la force, le courage, et la créativité de triompher contre les forces de l’oppression. (Cinema Politica)

 

du 1er au 28 février – 8 $


Nos suggestions

Casa d'Italia Vues de quartier


Je me souviens d’un temps où personne ne joggait dans ce quartier

Ce film sans dialogue présente le quartier le plus densément peuplé de Montréal, Parc-Extension et, surtout, ceux et celles qui y vivent.

En savoir plus

Casa d'Italia


Dear Jackie

Dear Jackie adopte la forme d’une lettre cinématographique destinée à Jackie Robinson, militant ayant contribué à paver la voie au mouvement des droits civiques aux États-Unis et premier homme noir ayant joué dans la Ligue majeure de baseball américaine, jusqu’alors ségréguée.

En savoir plus

Casa d'Italia


Mon père et sa mélancolie

Né en 1937 à Lijiang, une petite ville située dans la Chine rurale à la frontière tibétaine, Chong Ren He est descendant des Naxi, une des cinquante-six minorités chinoises qui compte une population de 300 000 personnes.

En savoir plus

Cinéma Public,
un cinéma en mouvement