Looking for Horses

Stefan Pavlović
2021 - Documentary - 88 min

International cinema


Looking for Horses

country:
Netherlands, Bosnia-Herzegovina, France
language:
Bosnian, English
subtitles:
French

Stefan Pavlović’s award-winning first feature chronicles the growing friendship between the filmmaker and a recluse fisherman. Stefan has lost his mother tongue due to a childhood stutter, and Zdravko has lost most of his hearing during the Bosnian war. The camera becomes the point of connection between the two who’re trying to reconcile with the past. They pass their time on the lake fishing and talking of wild horses said to roam nearby. Eager to overcome their traumas, they listen, empathize and acknowledge each other’s struggles. The stunning visual montage and the cinematic intimacy created around the natural environment draws us deep into the internal worlds of these soulful friends. (RIDM)

 

Visions du Réel 2021 — Sesterce d’or Canton de Vaud
Sarajevo 2021 — Special Jury Prize
RIDM 2021 — Grand Prize, international competition

You might also like

Les années Super-8

“In re-viewing our super eight films, shot between 1972 and 1981, it occurred to me that they comprised not only a family archive but a testimony to the pastimes, lifestyle and aspirations of a social class in the decade after 1968.”

Learn more

Cesária Évora

Ana Sofia Fonseca’s documentary about legendary Cape Verdean singer Cesária Évora reveals the complex woman behind the rich, deeply resonant voice that catapulted her to international fame at the age of 50.

Learn more

Au-delà des hautes vallées

In a remote himalayan region, the villagers of Maikot are preparing for the harvest of a mysterious aphrodisiac caterpillar-mushroom worth more than gold.

Learn more

Cinéma Public,
a cinema on the move

Looking for Horses

Stefan Pavlović
2021 - Documentaire - 88 min

Cinéma international


Looking for Horses

pays :
Pays-Bas, Bosnie-Herzégovine, France
langue :
bosniaque, anglais
sous-titres :
français

Le premier long métrage de Stefan Pavlović, primé à Visions du Réel, suit l’amitié grandissante entre le cinéaste et un pêcheur solitaire. Stefan ne parle plus sa langue maternelle à cause d’un problème de bégaiement dans son enfance; Zdravko a perdu l’ouïe pendant la guerre de Bosnie. La caméra devient le point de contact entre deux hommes qui tentent de se réconcilier avec leur passé. Ils passent leur temps à pêcher sur le lac et à bavarder de chevaux sauvages qu’on aurait aperçus dans les environs. Décidés à surmonter leurs traumatismes, ils s’écoutent avec empathie et reconnaissent les blessures de l’autre. Le montage maîtrisé et l’atmosphère intime qui naît de l’environnement naturel nous plongent dans l’univers mental de ces deux amis aux émotions à fleur de peau. (RIDM)

 

Visions du Réel 2021 — Sesterce d’or Canton de Vaud

Sarajevo 2021 — Prix spécial du Jury

RIDM 2021 — Grand Prix, compétition internationale
Co-présenté avec les RIDM

Nos suggestions

Les années Super-8

« En revoyant nos films Super-8 pris entre 1972 et 1981, il m’est apparu que ceux-ci constituaient non seulement une archive familiale mais aussi un témoignage sur les loisirs, le style de vie et les aspirations d’une classe sociale, dans la décennie qui suit 1968. »

En savoir plus

Cesária Évora

Le documentaire d’Ana Sofia Fonseca sur la légendaire chanteuse capverdienne Cesária Évora révèle la femme complexe qui se cache derrière la voix riche et profondément résonnante qui l’a catapultée vers la gloire internationale à l’âge de 50 ans.

En savoir plus

Au-delà des hautes vallées

Dans une région reculée de l’Himalaya, les habitants du village de Maikot se préparent pour la récolte d’un mystérieux champignon aphrodisiaque valant plus que de l’or.

En savoir plus

Cinéma Public,
un cinéma en mouvement