Paysage de l'île-de-sable dans le film GEOGRAPHIES OF SOLITUDE de Jacquelyn Mills

Geographies of Solitude

Jacquelyn Mills
2022 - Documentary - 103 min

Homegrown cinema


Geographies of Solitude

country:
Canada
language:
English
subtitles:
French

An immersion into the rich ecosystem of Sable Island, guided by naturalist and environmentalist Zoe Lucas who has lived over 40 years on this remote sliver of land in the Northwest Atlantic Ocean. Shot on 16mm and created using a scope of innovative eco-friendly filmmaking techniques, this feature-length experimental documentary is a playful and reverent collaboration with the natural world. Zoe leads us among wild horses, seals and bugs, through peaks, valleys, roots, sands, weathers, seasons and stars. The intangible is evoked with hidden sounds and vanishing light. Much like a field book, the film tracks its protagonist’s labor to collect, clean and document marine litter that persistently washes up on the island shores. (FilmsWeLike)

 

Berlinale 2022 — Prize of the Ecumenical Jury, CICAE Arthouse Cinema Award, Caligari Film Prize

Hot Docs 2022 — Best Canadian Feature Documentary Award

  • Friday, December 16, 18:00
    (FST)
    Casa d'Italia
  • Sunday, December 18, 18:30
    (FST)
    With Jacquelyn Mills in attendance

    Casa d'Italia

You might also like

Au-delà des hautes vallées

In a remote himalayan region, the villagers of Maikot are preparing for the harvest of a mysterious aphrodisiac caterpillar-mushroom worth more than gold.

Learn more

Cesária Évora

Ana Sofia Fonseca’s documentary about legendary Cape Verdean singer Cesária Évora reveals the complex woman behind the rich, deeply resonant voice that catapulted her to international fame at the age of 50.

Learn more

Les années Super-8

“In re-viewing our super eight films, shot between 1972 and 1981, it occurred to me that they comprised not only a family archive but a testimony to the pastimes, lifestyle and aspirations of a social class in the decade after 1968.”

Learn more

Cinéma Public,
a cinema on the move

Paysage de l'île-de-sable dans le film GEOGRAPHIES OF SOLITUDE de Jacquelyn Mills

Geographies of Solitude

Jacquelyn Mills
2022 - Documentaire - 103 min

Cinéma d'ici


Geographies of Solitude

pays :
Canada
langue :
anglais
sous-titres :
français

Une immersion dans le riche écosystème de Sable Island, guidée par la naturaliste et environnementaliste Zoe Lucas, qui vit depuis plus de 40 ans sur cette parcelle de terre isolée dans l’océan Atlantique Nord-Ouest. Tourné en 16 mm et créé à l’aide de techniques cinématographiques innovantes et respectueuses de l’environnement, ce long métrage documentaire expérimental est une collaboration ludique et respectueuse avec le monde naturel. Zoe nous conduit parmi les chevaux sauvages, les phoques et les insectes, à travers les pics, les vallées, les racines, les sables, les intempéries, les saisons et les étoiles. L’intangible est évoqué avec des sons cachés et des lumières qui disparaissent. À la manière d’un livre de terrain, le film suit le travail de sa protagoniste qui collecte, nettoie et documente les déchets marins qui s’échouent constamment sur les côtes de l’île.

 

Berlinale 2022 — prix du Jury Œcuménique, prix CICAE et prix Caligari

Hot Docs 2022 — meilleur long métrage documentaire canadien

  • Vendredi 16 décembre, 18h00
    (STF)
    Casa d'Italia
  • Dimanche 18 décembre, 18h30
    (STF)
    En présence de Jacquelyn Mills

    Casa d'Italia

Nos suggestions

Au-delà des hautes vallées

Dans une région reculée de l’Himalaya, les habitants du village de Maikot se préparent pour la récolte d’un mystérieux champignon aphrodisiaque valant plus que de l’or.

En savoir plus

Cesária Évora

Le documentaire d’Ana Sofia Fonseca sur la légendaire chanteuse capverdienne Cesária Évora révèle la femme complexe qui se cache derrière la voix riche et profondément résonnante qui l’a catapultée vers la gloire internationale à l’âge de 50 ans.

En savoir plus

Les années Super-8

« En revoyant nos films Super-8 pris entre 1972 et 1981, il m’est apparu que ceux-ci constituaient non seulement une archive familiale mais aussi un témoignage sur les loisirs, le style de vie et les aspirations d’une classe sociale, dans la décennie qui suit 1968. »

En savoir plus

Cinéma Public,
un cinéma en mouvement