Jimmywork de Simon Sauvé

Jimmywork

Simon Sauvé
2004 - Drama - 81 min

Homegrown cinema


Jimmywork

Cinéastes cœur à cœur

country:
Canada
language:
English, French
subtitles:
English

An eclectic portrait of a true scumbag, Jimmywork tells the story of Jimmy, who at the dawn of his 50th birthday finds himself at a crossroads in his life. Professional drunkard and schemer at times, for him it’s now or never, he wants to get out of this mediocre existence. Posing as a major American producer, he develops an advertising campaign to promote a rodeo in northern Quebec. The story develops initially in the Mile End district of Montreal, then transports us to the heart of the Far East of Quebec in a frenetic road movie.

 

This film was chosen by Patrice Laliberté, director of TRÈS BELLE JOURNÉE, as part of our series Cinéastes cœur à cœur


You might also like

cELLEuloid


Costa Brava, Lebanon

Lebanon, in the near future. Soraya and Walid have built an idyllic life in the mountains, far from the chaos and pollution of Beirut, when the family’s peaceful life is brutally challenged by the installation of a supposedly ecological landfill…

Learn more

THE INNOCENTS de Eskil Vogt

FIKAS 2022


The Innocents

Out of sight of the adults, four children discover they have hidden powers. While exploring their newfound abilities in the nearby forests and playgrounds, their innocent play takes a dark turn and strange things begin to happen.

Learn more

Un été comme ça

Invited to a rest home to explore their sexual disorders, three young women spend their days and nights taming their inner demons. Under the quiet supervision of a caring therapist and social worker, the group tries to keep a fragile balance.

Learn more

Cinéma Public,
a cinema on the move

Jimmywork de Simon Sauvé

Jimmywork

Simon Sauvé
2004 - Drame - 81 min

Jimmywork de Simon Sauvé

Cinéma d'ici


Jimmywork

Cinéastes cœur à cœur

pays :
Canada
langue :
anglais et français
sous-titres :
anglais

Portrait éclectique d’un véritable crasseux, Jimmywork retrace l’histoire de Jimmy, qui à l’aube de ses 50 ans se retrouve à un carrefour de sa vie. Ivrogne professionnel et magouilleur à ses heures, pour lui c’est maintenant ou jamais, il veut se sortir de cette médiocre existence. Se faisant passer pour un grand producteur américain, il élabore une campagne publicitaire pour promouvoir un rodéo du nord du Québec. Le récit se développe initialement dans le quartier du Mile-End à Montréal pour ensuite nous transporter au coeur du Far-Est québécois dans un road movie frénétique.

 

Ce film a été sélectionné par Patrice Laliberté, réalisateur de TRÈS BELLE JOURNÉE, dans le cadre de la série Cinéastes cœur à cœur

STF - Sous-titres français
STA - Sous-titres anglais
STSM - Sous-titres pour personnes
sourdes et malentendantes

Nos suggestions

Sandra Hüller dans une scène du film La zone d'intérêt.

La zone d’intérêt

Rudolf Höss est responsable du camp d’Auschwitz. En marge de ses obligations professionnelles, il mène une vie familiale paisible. Sa femme Hedwig soigne ses fleurs. Les enfants s’ébattent au soleil. Par-delà le mur du jardin s’opère l’extermination quotidienne.

En savoir plus

Moi capitaine

Deux jeunes sénégalais décident de quitter leur pays pour rejoindre l’Europe, mais sur leur chemin les rêves et les espoirs d’une vie meilleure sont vite anéantis par les dangers de ce périple. Leur seule arme dans cette aventure homérienne restera leur humanité.

En savoir plus

Les herbes sèches

Samet enseigne dans une école de village d’Anatolie et désespère qu’on lui offre enfin un poste à Istanbul. Sa situation s’aggrave lorsqu’il est accusé de comportement déplacé envers l’une de ses élèves… Une réflexion nuancée sur les tourments de l’âme humaine.

En savoir plus

Cinéma Public,
un cinéma en mouvement